Michigan Student Sustainability Coalition

Unifying the voice of a generation in environmental solidarity

The Summit: A Student Perspective

on February 14, 2013

Here’s a few thoughts on our weekend from a student, Ian Seager at MSU. Leave a comment and share how you felt about the summit!

As I said in my farewell at the summit, last weekend was the most fun I have ever had outside of a music festival. That is true, but what I meant to say was that it was more fun! I learned so much about the things I can do to help make a difference and I had so many great conversations with wonderful people about things I never get to talk about; things that are really important to me. I’ve begun to understand how a community of strangers can become a family. My motivation and moral are as high as they have ever been. I was so jacked up after the first day that I couldn’t sleep so I stayed up and did tai chi and yoga for a few hours. Combine that with the excellent cuisine (mostly), and great atmosphere and I even feel physically healthier than I have in years. I can’t wait to spend more time with all of you in the future while we continue our work to change the world for the better. “If more of us valued food and cheer and song above hoarded gold, it would be a merrier world.”-J.R.R. Tolkien

Image

Here’s Ian at the summit, showing off some sweet skills.

Leave a Reply

